How To Remove Profile Picture?

Follow these steps to completely remove your Facebook profile photo:
  • If needed, sign in to your Facebook account.
  • Then, once your profile has loaded, click on your profile picture in the top left corner of the home screen, as shown on the screenshot below:

    Click on your Facebook profile photo
  • As soon as you do, Facebook will load your preview profile in its own page; now, move your mouse pointer (cursor) above your larger size profile photo, and click on the "pencil" icon to reveal a submenu:

    Access your Facebook profile picture options
  • Now, click on the "Remove your Picture" menu item at the bottom; Facebook will open a "Remove Picture?" confirmation dialog; click "Cancel" to keep your current account photo in place, or "Okay" to proceed and delete your profile photo.
  • Within a second or so, Facebook will display an updated account profile page, with the default picture placeholder and silhouette (blank picture) whose silhouette depends on the gender your picked for your profile.

    Deleted account photo displays a blank picture on your Facebook profile
  • That's all it takes to show a blank photo for your Facebook profile.
Tip: while Facebook removes the picture from your profile (in the public account photo slot), the image is still in your "Profile Pictures" album. To completely delete the image file from your profile, just click on the default profile picture, and you will see your old photo; click on it to load it in its own page, and then click on the "Delete This Photo" link under the bottom right corner of the image preview.